Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

E for Expansionism

par Laura S

My name is Laura, I was born in Nacogdoches, in Texas.

My dad always told me that we were Mexican, but I don't know, I don't really feel like I am. If I remember corretly after the texane revolution, the Republic of Texas was independent.

However the independence was hard to handle for our country, therefore a lot of people wanted the Texas to be a part of the United States. I remember the anger of my dad when he heard people saying that.. He only supported Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna, a mexican politician, because he was sharing the same point of view as him: they both thought it was a dangerous idea, with enormous consequences.

In 1845, Texas joined the US and with my family, we wanted to move in Mexico.

We stayed couple years more in Texas, none of us could accept the unbelievable deportation of slaves that came out in this new country.

It was not our country anymore.

 

 

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
K
It's a great article! You're the only one who write about the latinossituation during the 1845 in U.S.A! Congrats I love it! <3
Répondre